Wells Scholars Program Professor Marion Werkheiser to visit IU

Bloomington, Ind.– Marion Werkheiser, an alumna of the Wells Scholars Program, is returning to Indiana University this spring as the IU Class of 1943 Wells Scholars Program Professor. She is the second Wells Scholar in the program's 27-year history to hold this position, and her visit has been arranged in close collaboration with the Department of Anthropology at IU Bloomington.

Werkheiser is an award-winning lawyer and preservation advocate who has counseled foreign governments, advocacy organizations and individuals on UNESCO conventions and U.S. law governing illicit antiquities. A co-founder and managing member of Cultural Heritage Partners, PLLC—the leading law and advocacy firm in the field of preservation—she helps clients devise strategies to protect archaeological sites and cultural institutions at risk from looting due to political instability, armed conflict and exploitation by terrorist groups, including the Islamic State.

Werkheiser is an expert member of the International Council on Monuments and Sites Committee on Legal, Administrative, and Financial Affairs. In 2014, the Register of Professional Archaeologists honored her with the John F. Seiberling Award for her significant and sustained efforts in the conservation of archaeological resources. 

An IU graduate with majors in political science and classical civilization, Werkheiser was a recipient of the 2014 College of Arts and Science Distinguished Alumni Award.

While at Indiana University, Werkeiser will teach a joint class on "Problems in Heritage Preservation" with April Sievert, the director of the Glenn A. Black Laboratory of Archaeology at IU.  She will also give a public lecture, "Preserving Cultural Heritage in the Age of Trump," at the Lilly Library on February 22 at 4 pm.

The Wells Scholars Program Professorship is supported by donations made by alumni during the endowment campaign for the Wells Scholarship. Its purpose is to bring outstanding researchers and artists to campus. Previous Wells Scholars Program professors include South African civil rights activist Helen Suzman, playwright Athol Fugard, novelist and critic Sir Malcolm Bradbury, anthropologist Clifford Geertz, security expert Sir Timothy Garden, geologist Walter Alvarez, and the Wells Scholars Program alumnus Douglas Kysar of Yale University.

The Wells Scholarship, created in honor of the late IU Chancellor Herman B Wells, ranks among the most competitive and prestigious awards offered by any American university. Wells Scholars major in any field offered at IU, and they engage in interdisciplinary seminars, extracurricular events with distinguished visitors, community service and international experiences. Learn more at