President McRobbie honors Charlene Brown with E. Ross Bartley Award

Bloomington, Ind.—Indiana University President Michael A. McRobbie honored Charlene Brown with the E. Ross Bartley Award, the highest award given by the IU president to administrative or support staff.

Brown came to Indiana University in 1972 to teach journalism and since joining the honors program in 1987 has planned hundreds of extracurricular activities for students in the Hutton Honors College and Wells Scholars Program. Hosting distinguished visitors from across the world and creating other programs with faculty, Brown broadened intellectual opportunities for students across campus. She will retire from her position as director of extracurricular activities at the Hutton Honors College and associate director of the Wells Scholars Program on August 31.

During her tenure, Brown has prepared students for graduate and professional study as well as prestigious awards and scholarships. She has worked with every Wells Scholar and all four Wells Scholars Program directors since the program’s inception in 1990.

“Charlene’s ongoing engagement with current scholars as well as those post-graduation has fostered lifelong relationships between students and their alma mater, which is, of course, one of our ultimate goals at the university,” McRobbie said. “Countless faculty, staff, students, alumni, friends and donors have benefitted from her tremendous efforts and each of them is better for having known or worked with her during her time here.”

Brown received the Bartley award at the Wells Scholars Program new class reception at the Indiana Memorial Union Frangipani Room on August 13.

Named after one of the late IU Chancellor Herman B Wells' most valued staff members, the E. Ross Bartley Award is the highest staff award given by the IU President. It is given to a member of the administrative or support staff who demonstrates outstanding leadership skills, service and professional accomplishment at the local, state or national level. 

The Hutton Honors College recruits diverse, talented and highly motivated students. By offering a range of small, challenging courses along with a variety of extracurricular and service programs, the Hutton Honors College strives to ensure an enriched academic and social experience for its students and to create an environment that fosters active, innovative learning. These opportunities, which include a close working relationship with some of IU's top faculty, affirm its commitment to providing its students with both the intimacy of a small college and the breadth of a large, pluralistic and distinguished research institution.

The Wells Scholarship, created in honor of the late IU Chancellor Herman B Wells, ranks among the most competitive and prestigious awards offered by any American university. Wells Scholars have gone on to win more than 85 national and international scholarships, fellowships, and grants, such as the Rhodes, Truman, Marshall, Soros, Mitchell, Churchill, Gates Cambridge, Fulbright, and Goldwater awards. The Wells Scholars Program facilitates interdisciplinary and extracurricular opportunities for scholars pursuing majors across the IU Bloomington campus.

The Wells Scholars Program and the Hutton Honors College are both units within the Office of the Vice Provost for Undergraduate Education at IU Bloomington.